Downgrade macOS 14 Sonoma Beta (23A5257q)

Hello everyone,

Yesterday, I updated my MacBook Pro 2023 to the beta version of macOS 14. Previously, I had macOS 13 installed. Unfortunately, I didn't make any backups using the Time Machine app before this update.

I'm an iOS developer and I use xCode daily. I installed the beta version 15 of xCode, but now I've realized that I can't publish updates of my app on the App Store using a beta version of xCode.

I want to revert back to macOS Ventura by downloading it from the Mac App Store. However, when I try to proceed with the downgrade using the official installer on my main disk "Macintosh HD," I receive the error shown in the attached image: "The volume cannot be downgraded."

How can I go back to macOS Ventura in these circumstances so that I can use the stable version of xCode 14.3.1?

I appreciate your kind assistance and thank you in advance.

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of Pauell Down vote post of Pauell
8.2k views

Replies

Multiple versions of Xcode can coexist. Xcode 14.3.1 probably runs fine under Sonoma - have you tried?

You will need to set the active version of Xcode using xcode-select -s /path/to/active/Xcode/Contents/Developer

https://github.com/XcodesOrg/xcodes is a handy tool to download and unpack Xcode versions more quickly, and provides a GUI to activate the desired version.

• XCode 14.3.1 doesn't even start on Sonoma

• Having the same issue. Opening Xcode prompts: "You can’t use this version of the application “Xcode” with this version of macOS." "You have “Xcode” 14.3.1."

Add a Comment

I installed the beta as well, but 2 of the apps I frequently use started crashing on startup, thus I'd love to know how to revert to stable version too

Desperately trying to revert here, too.

Same problem here. I either need to find a way to run XCode 14, or to downgrade my mac OS installation back from the beta. The new XCode linker segfaults when building my app.