为您的游戏添加限时活动

限时活动提供了游戏互动和获得奖励的新方式,从而鼓励玩家参与游戏。了解如何在游戏中规划、展示和宣传限时活动,以发展您的业务。

概览

限时活动为玩家提供了一种在特定时间段内与游戏互动并获得奖励的新方式。这是更大的即时运营策略的一部分,通过提供适时增强功能 (例如新内容或限时优惠),让玩家对游戏保持新鲜感。通过在游戏中举办限时活动,可以鼓励玩家更深入地体验与核心游戏玩法相关的新挑战和奖励,这样也可以帮助实现其他目标,例如留住玩家、吸引玩家回归、推动功能采用和增加 App 内购买。

限时活动可以至少归入以下其中一个类别。每个活动可以是一次性的,也可以定期反复出现,并且可在不同的时段进行,例如工作日的晚上或周末。

竞赛
基于竞技比赛的活动 - 例如,争夺排位赛的冠军、赢得一定数量的战役或在比赛中获得一定数量的积分。

主题
具有特定主题的活动 —— 主题可围绕季节、假日、特定角色、道具或功能等。

渐进式
活动之间可形成相辅相成的关系或按照一定顺序发生的活动。奖励通常会随着系列活动的进展而增加 - 例如,当玩家完成某个限时活动后,他们就有资格参加该系列中下一个具有更高奖励的限时活动。

创建限时活动并提供相关支持

在向游戏添加限时活动之前,请确保您拥有适当的资源来开发、监控和分析这些活动。然后,您就可以规划每个活动并审核您的策略,确保考虑周全。

定义活动目标和衡量指标
首先选择每个活动的业务目标。您的主要目的可以是提高玩家的游戏参与度,次要目的可以是提升留存率或鼓励 App 内购买。然后,您可以为每个活动创建相关的指标 (例如目标、时间表和奖励) 来为这些目的提供支持。根据玩家和游戏的具体情况,限时活动可以有多个目标和奖励,或者无限期的完成时间。

根据活动的目标指标和您想要提供的体验,确定哪些玩家群组或级别符合参加活动的条件。例如,如果活动旨在吸引新玩家,可以要求玩家达到一定等级来赢得可用来购买道具的游戏币;而如果活动是面向经验丰富的玩家,则可以要求他们在特定时间内升到一定等级来赚取一些稀有道具。

关注您的整体策略
在完成限时活动的规划后,应确保不同活动在受众、目标和奖励方面各不相同。根据游戏的设计和经济情况,您可以同时举办多个限时活动。考虑在任何给定时间内向玩家开放多少个限时活动,在核心游戏玩法和活动之间保持平衡。

监控数据,确保平衡
保持游戏内运营体系的平衡并合理地设定奖励、资源和挑战难度,这些对于游戏的整体健康至关重要。确保玩家从限时活动中获得的任何奖励都不会使游戏变得过于简单或困难。如果您的奖励过于丰厚,可能会让游戏变得过于简单,这会降低玩家活跃度、留存率或收入。请进行实时监控,以便在发现有不平衡情况需要纠正时,可以迅速进行调整。

宣传您的限时活动

要最大限度地提高玩家对限时活动的认知度和参与率,请考虑在 app 内以及通过外部营销渠道宣传您的限时活动。

在游戏内提高认知度
让玩家可以在游戏中轻松发现限时活动,以便他们决定是否要参与其中。在玩家开始活动任务后,帮助他们跟踪进度和完成所要求目标的剩余时间。考虑在游戏中设计一个区域,便于玩家轻松查看当前的限时活动以及目标、奖励和进度等详细信息。您可以在新手引导教程体验中指出这个区域并说明限时活动的价值。您还可以在游戏中的相关时间点展示限时活动,例如,当玩家访问特定区域或达到特定级别时。推广这个内容的另一种方法是使用推送通知,例如,告知用户针对限时活动的特价优惠活动。请注意,用户必须首先在您的 app 中通过某种方式明确选择接收营销推送通知,而且在此过程中应提供相应的同意语句以及清晰的退订方法。

通过外部渠道分享您的限时活动
通过外部营销渠道 (例如您的社交媒体帐户) 宣传您的限时活动,吸引新玩家、不活跃和流失的玩家参与游戏。如果限时活动是游戏的一项核心特色,您也可以在产品页面上加以介绍。

格斗游戏《RWBY: Amity Arena》中包括一个专门的活动部分,供玩家轻松查看当前的限时活动并跟踪他们的进度。

评估您的限时活动

规划好您的限时活动,以便可以衡量活动成功与否。全程监控活跃度指标,以便发现任何正面或负面影响。您还可以查看实时活动的长期影响,以帮助优化活动效果。例如,如果您发现多次举办某个活动都产生了正面影响,则可以考虑扩大或重复举办此活动。考虑使用自动化功能来节约时间和资源,并确保活动能够继续保持平衡并补充核心游戏玩法。

您可以使用 App Store Connect 中的“App 分析”来查看用户活跃度指标,例如会话数、活跃设备数和玩家留存率,以了解玩家对限时活动的反响情况。您还可以查看一天中有多少付费用户,以便了解您的限时活动能否鼓励 App 内购买。

进一步了解 App 分析

Adding Live Events to Your Game

Live events encourage player engagement by offering new ways of interacting with your game and receiving rewards. Learn how to plan, present, and promote live events in your game to help grow your business.

Overview

A live event introduces a new way for players to interact with your game and receive rewards for a specific period of time. This is part of a larger live operations strategy to keep the game fresh with timely enhancements, such as new content or limited-time offers. Hosting live events in your game encourages players to engage more deeply with new challenges and incentives related to core gameplay, which helps support other goals such as retention, re-engagement, feature adoption, and increased in-app purchases.

Live events can fit into at least one of the following categories. Each event can be one-time or recurring, and take place at various times, such as weekday evenings or weekends.

Competitive
Events based on winning a contest — for example, placing first in a tournament against other players, winning a certain number of battles, or scoring a certain number of points during a match.

Thematic
Events based on a topic — for example, a season, holiday, character, item, or feature.

Progressive
Events that build on each other or follow a sequence. The reward usually increases as the series progresses — for example, when a player completes a certain live event they become eligible for the next live event in the series that has a higher reward.

Creating and Supporting Your Live Events

Before adding live events to your game, make sure you have the proper resources to develop, monitor, and analyze them. You can then plan each event and review your strategy to ensure it’s comprehensive.

Define Event Goals and Parameters
Start by choosing your business goals for each event. Your primary goal might be for players to engage with your game more often, and secondary goals might be improving retention or encouraging in-app purchases. Then you can create each event’s parameters — the objectives, timeline, and reward — to support these goals. Depending on what best suits your players and game, live events can have multiple objectives and rewards, or an indefinite timeline for completion.

Determine which player groups or levels will be eligible for the event based on the event’s target metrics and the experience you want to provide. For example, an event meant to engage new players might ask them to complete a certain number of levels to win in-game currency that they can use to buy items, while an event for experienced players might ask them to level up a certain number of characters within a timeframe to earn a bundle of rare items.

Look at Your Overall Strategy
Once you’ve planned each live event, make sure that together, they vary in terms of audience, objective, and reward. Depending on your game’s design and economy, you can have multiple live events active simultaneously. Consider how many live events are available to a player at any given time to keep the balance between core gameplay and events.

Monitor to Ensure Balance
Maintaining gameplay balance and properly weighting your rewards, resources, and degree of challenge is vital to the overall health of your game. Be sure any rewards obtained from your live events do not make gameplay too easy or difficult. If your rewards are too generous, it may make your game too easy, which can decrease engagement, retention, or billings. Monitor in real time so you can quickly make adjustments if you discover an imbalance that needs correcting.

Promoting Your Live Events

To maximize player awareness and engagement, consider promoting your live events in your app and through your external marketing channels.

Drive Awareness Within Your Game
Make it easy for players to discover live events in your game so they can decide whether they’d like to participate. Once a player starts an event, help them keep track of their progress and time left to complete the required objective. Consider designing an area in your game where players can easily see current live events along with details about objectives, rewards, and progress. Consider pointing out this area to players and explaining the value of live events during onboarding. You can also present live events at relevant points in your game — for example, when a player visits a specific area or reaches a certain level.

Share Your Live Events Externally
Reach new, inactive, and churned players by promoting your live events through outside marketing channels, such as your social media accounts. You can also mention live events on your product page if they are a core feature of your game.

The duel game RWBY: Amity Arena includes a dedicated events section, allowing players to easily see active live events and track their progress.

Evaluating Your Live Events

Set up your live events so you can measure their success. Monitor engagement metrics before, during, and after to find any positive or negative effects. You can also look at the impact of your live events over time to help you optimize effectiveness. For example, if an event you’ve run multiple times generates positive impact, you can expand the event or make it recurring. Consider using automation to save time and resources, and make sure the event continues to maintain balance and supplement core gameplay.

You can use App Analytics in App Store Connect to view user engagement metrics such as number of sessions, active devices, and retention to get an idea of how players respond to your live events. You can also see how many paying users you have in a day so you’ll know whether your live events encourage in-app purchases.

Learn more about app analytics