免费增值游戏

免费增值游戏允许玩家免费下载和畅玩您的游戏,同时提供可选的 app 内购买项目来增强他们的体验。成功的免费增值游戏为付费和不付费玩家都能提供良好的体验,并会积极维护来保持玩家的参与度。了解关于在 Apple 平台上分发免费增值游戏的信息,并了解更多获取玩家、提高玩家参与度和留住玩家的方法。

吸引玩家玩您的游戏

建立一个高参与度的玩家群体对确保您的游戏取得长期成功来说非常重要。优化您的产品页面,帮助玩家在 App Store 上找到您的游戏,并在您的游戏发布之前增加知名度。花时间打造周到的新手引导体验,以帮助玩家熟悉您的游戏并了解游戏规则。

产品页面

充分利用您的产品页面,最大限度提高游戏的曝光度。确保您的元数据 (如关键词、app 名称、图标和截屏) 有说服力并且能准确反映您的游戏。您还可以添加两个子类别,帮助玩家在搜索 App Store 或浏览 App Store 上的子类别时,以及在“游戏”和“App”标签中都能够发现您的游戏。选取最适合您的游戏的类别。

  • 动作游戏
  • 冒险游戏
  • 桌面游戏
  • 卡牌游戏
  • 娱乐场游戏
  • 休闲游戏
  • 聚会游戏
  • 音乐游戏
  • 益智解谜游戏
  • 竞速游戏
  • 角色扮演游戏
  • 模拟游戏
  • 体育游戏
  • 策略游戏
  • 问答游戏
  • 字谜游戏

了解如何优化您的产品页面

了解如何选择类别

预订

在您的游戏发布到 App Store 之前,玩家最早可以提前 180 天预订您的游戏。玩家可以从您的产品页面或搜索结果中进行预订;如果您的游戏入选了精选推荐,他们也可以在“Today”、“游戏”、或“App”标签中预订该游戏。这样有助于在发布之前为您的游戏造势并积累受众。在您的游戏发布可供下载后,已预订的玩家会收到通知,该游戏会在 24 小时内自动下载至他们的设备。如果您愿意,您也可以为预订您游戏的顾客提供一份游戏内的礼品 (比如专属物品或免费货币),以感谢他们的关注并鼓励更多参与。

了解如何为您的 app 提供预订

下载“在 App Store 上预订”徽章

促销代码

您可以使用促销代码来分发您的游戏或向玩家免费提供 app 内购买项目。您甚至可以在您的游戏上架到 App Store 之前,就创建、分发并让用户兑换促销代码,帮助游戏在发布之前提高知名度。例如,您可以向有影响力的用户、记者或评论者分享促销代码,以此来宣传您的游戏。您可以为每个平台上每个版本的 app 提供最多 100 个促销代码,为每个 app 内购买项目提供最多 100 个促销代码。

了解关于促销代码的更多信息

引导新手玩家

创建一段新手引导的体验,帮助新手玩家了解您的游戏,提高他们的回头率。成功的新手引导体验应该帮助玩家了解游戏的核心循环 (游戏的基本运作和活动),如何购买物品以及继续游戏的趣味。请确保涵盖游戏的基本活动,让玩家能够在游戏中迅速开始自我引导。如果您的新手引导体验太长或太复杂,可能会让玩家失去兴趣。对于游戏中更复杂的方面,应考虑逐步提供多个简短教程加以说明。

了解关于游戏的新手引导

推广 App 内购买项目

您也可以在 iPhone 和 iPad 的 App Store 中推广 app 内购买项目,这样它们便会出现在您游戏的产品页面或搜索结果中,并且可能在“Today”、“游戏”、或“App”标签中入选精选推荐。这可以让玩家快速了解到他们可以购买的 app 内购买项目类型,同时也有助于鼓励新玩家下载您的游戏。

了解如何推广 app 内购买项目

通用购买

您可以通过通用购买项目形式分发游戏的 iOS、iPadOS、watchOS、macOS 和 Apple tvOS 版本,让玩家能够轻松地在所有平台上畅玩您的游戏并使用 app 内购买项目。这样,玩家在您游戏所支持的所有 Apple 设备上,都能方便地访问该游戏。

了解关于提供通用购买的信息

游戏手柄支持

通过游戏手柄框架来支持 iPhone、iPad、Mac 和 Apple TV 使用游戏手柄。您还可以使用这个框架来支持 iPadOS 游戏的键盘、鼠标和触控板输入,以及通过额外动作和自定触感来增强游戏。如果您在 Xcode 12 中表明您的游戏支持手柄,则您的 App Store 产品页面上会显示一个表明支持手柄的图标。使用 iOS 14Apple tvOS 14 或更高版本设备的玩家,可在设备设置中访问游戏手柄的输入重映射设定。如果您的游戏需要使用手柄,请确保在您的产品页面元数据中明确说明,让玩家了解您的游戏需要搭配额外设备。

了解关于游戏手柄框架的信息 (英文)

保持玩家的参与度

玩家需要能够持续享受游戏的乐趣,才会在您的游戏中保持活跃。确保持续更新您的游戏,通过增加新内容或挑战以及增强功能来保持玩家的兴趣。

App 内购买项目

利用 app 内购买项目,玩家可以通过购买数字物品 (如货币和资源) 来增强体验。您可以提供四类 app 内购买项目:

  • 消耗型项目。会消费掉或耗尽的一次性使用物品,比如游戏币、装备或生命。消耗型 app 内购买项目通常可以帮助玩家在游戏中更快进步,并且可以多次购买。
  • 非消耗型项目。不会过期的一次性购买物品,例如一套额外等级、皮肤或装备。
  • 自动续期订阅。玩家可以重复访问内容,例如提供定期补充的专属物品的 VIP 等级。了解关于提供自动续期订阅的信息
  • 非续期订阅。有限的内容访问权限,例如季度或年度访问权。这类 app 内购买项目不会自动续期,玩家需要在每次权限到期后手动续期。

在规划您的 app 内购买项目时,需要考虑每个产品与您游戏的基本活动之间的关系。您可以显示与情境相关的适当内容,以帮助提高玩家的游戏体验。例如,如果玩家连续多次通关失败,您可以向玩家展示如何借助某个特定物品更轻松地升级以及如何获得相应物品。您也可以向玩家强调任何奖励或折扣,以显示特定 app 内购买项目的价值。您可以在游戏中提供多达 10,000 个 app 内购买项目。

了解如何创建和发布 app 内购买项目

推送通知

推送通知会向玩家提供相关提醒和更新,以此提高玩家对您游戏的参与度。例如,您可以提醒玩家完成某个任务或领取每日奖励,鼓励他们打开您的游戏。您还可以使用推送通知来推广内容,比如推广您的游戏正在开展的限时活动或 app 内购买项目的促销活动。前提是,玩家必须首先在您的游戏中通过某种方式明确选择了接收营销推送通知,该方式需要包含相应的表示同意的语句以及清晰的退订方法。为了提供积极的体验,请注意通知的频率和时间,并确保通知具有相关性,能够提供有价值的信息,且具有明确目的。不要在您推送通知中显示个人敏感信息或机密信息。

了解如何设计有效的推送通知 (英文)

了解如何实施推送通知 (英文)

Game Center

借助 Apple 的社交游戏网络“Game Center”,让玩家与好友一起享受您的游戏。利用 Game Center 的游戏内访问点和仪表盘,包括玩家资料、排行榜和成就,鼓励玩家更深入地参与您的游戏。您还可以利用 GameKit 框架来打造多人游戏体验。

集成了 Game Center 的游戏会显示在 App Store 上的“朋友在玩”部分中,方便顾客发掘并下载 Game Center 好友在玩的新游戏。顾客还可以直接在您游戏的 App Store 产品页面上看到哪些好友在玩您的游戏。

进一步了解有关 Game Center 的更多信息

限时活动

限时活动是您的游戏中的特殊活动,通过提供新的与游戏互动及获得奖励的方式来鼓励玩家参与。这是您的游戏中更大的即时运营策略的一部分。限时活动通常具有竞争性、主题性或渐进性,可以只开展一次,也可以按照一定的时间间隔重复开展,如每天或每周。如果要为您的游戏添加限时活动,您要确保活动目标和资格要求非常明确,并且要实施监控,以保证游戏的平衡度。考虑如何让更多玩家知道限时活动——比如,您可以在游戏中设置一个专门的公布区域,还可以借助推送通知和社交媒体宣传。您也可以使用产品页面上的推广文本部分来分享限时活动或功能,而不必提交新版游戏。

了解如何为您的游戏添加限时活动

平衡的游戏设置和退款

监控您的游戏内活动,如限时活动和 app 内购买项目,以确保游戏设置是平衡的并保证您游戏内的经济系统是对所有玩家都公平的。App Store 服务器通知可以为所有类型的 app 内购买项目提供实时退款通知,让您能管理退款并采取适当操作——例如,调整玩家在游戏中的余额,或限制对 app 内购买项目解锁内容的访问权限。对于滥用退款的情形,您可以考虑暂停或封禁玩家帐户。如果您选择采取行动,请告知玩家所有相关更改,以及他们是否需要进行任何操作。

有关更多信息,请参阅“处理退款通知”。

衡量游戏的表现

App Store Connect 中的“App 分析”功能可帮助您通过使用指标 (例如会话数、活跃设备和留存率) 来评估游戏的表现。这些信息可以帮助您评估新手引导工作是否成功,并了解哪些获取来源可以吸引更多玩家参与。您可以使用“销售和趋势”来跟踪您的游戏和 app 内购买内容的日常表现。

进一步了解关于衡量游戏表现的信息

最大限度发挥您的游戏潜力

利用专为充分发挥 Apple 平台功能而构建的强大游戏技术套件,创造令人惊叹的游戏体验。这些技术提供从高级别到低级别的一系列广泛功能,可以让您的游戏日益完善。

了解关于 Apple 游戏技术的信息

Freemium Games

Freemium games allow players to download and play your game at no cost while offering optional in-app purchases to supplement their experience. Successful freemium games provide a great experience for both paying and nonpaying players, and are actively maintained in order to sustain engagement. Learn about distributing a freemium game on Apple platforms and explore ways to acquire, engage, and retain players.

Attracting players to your game

Establishing an engaged player base is important for your game’s long-term success. Optimize your product page to help players find your game on the App Store, as well as build awareness for your game before it’s launched. Take the time to create a thoughtful onboarding experience to help players get acquainted with your game and learn how to play.

Product page

Maximize your game’s discoverability by making the most of your product page. Make sure your metadata — such as keywords, app name, icon, and screenshots — is compelling and accurately reflects your game. You can also add two subcategories in order to help players discover your game when searching the App Store or browsing subcategories on the App Store and in the Games and Apps tabs. Select the categories that best suit your game.

  • Action
  • Adventure
  • Board
  • Card
  • Casino
  • Casual
  • Family
  • Music
  • Puzzle
  • Racing
  • Role Playing
  • Simulation
  • Sports
  • Strategy
  • Trivia
  • Word

Learn how to optimize your product page

Learn how to choose a category

Pre-orders

Players can pre-order your game up to 180 days before it’s been published on the App Store. Pre-orders can be placed from your product page, search results, and the Today, Games, or Apps tabs, if your game is featured. This can help you create excitement for your game and build an audience ahead of launch. Once your game is released for download, players are notified and it automatically downloads to their device within 24 hours. If you’d like, you can provide customers who pre-order your game an in-game gift — such as an exclusive item or free currency — to reward their interest and encourage engagement.

Learn how to offer your app for pre-order

Download the ‘Pre-order on the App Store’ badge

Promo codes

You can use promo codes to distribute your game or to offer in-app purchases for free to players. Promo codes can be created, distributed, and redeemed even before your game is live on the App Store, giving you opportunities to build awareness about your game ahead of launch. For example, you might share promo codes with influencers, journalists, or reviewers as a way to generate coverage about your game. You can provide up to 100 promo codes for each version of your app per platform, and up to 100 promo codes for each in-app purchase you offer.

Learn about promo codes

Onboarding players

Create an onboarding experience that helps new players understand your game and makes them likely to return. Successful onboarding teaches players the core loop (the essential activities of your game), how to purchase items, and reasons to keep playing. Be sure to include your game’s essential activities and allow players to start self-guided gameplay quickly. If your onboarding is too long or complex, you may lose players. Consider offering instructions on more complicated aspects of your game as multiple, short tutorials that are presented over time.

Learn about onboarding for games

Promoting in-app purchases

You can also promote in-app purchases on the App Store for iPhone and iPad so that they appear on your game’s product page and in search results, and may be featured on the Today, Games, and Apps tabs. This gives players a glimpse into the types of in-app purchases they’re able to buy and can help encourage downloads of your game.

Learn how to promote in-app purchases

Universal purchase

You can distribute iOS, iPadOS, watchOS, macOS, and tvOS versions of your game as a universal purchase to let players easily enjoy your game and in‑app purchases across platforms. This allows players to easily access your game on all Apple devices that your game supports.

Learn about offering universal purchase

Game controller support

Use the Game Controller framework to support the use of game controllers for iPhone, iPad, Mac, and Apple TV. You can also use this framework to support keyboard, mouse, and trackpad inputs for iPadOS games and to augment gameplay with additional motion and custom haptics. When you indicate in Xcode 12 that your game supports controllers, an icon indicating controller support displays on your App Store product page. Players on iOS 14 and tvOS 14 or later can access controller input remapping options in their device settings. If your game requires a controller, make sure you clearly explain this in your product page metadata so players know they need additional equipment to play.

Learn about the Game Controller framework

Keeping players engaged

In order to stay active within your game, players need to continue enjoying gameplay. Make sure to update your game with new content or challenges as well as feature enhancements to give players a reason to return.

In-app purchases

In-app purchases allow players to purchase digital items, such as currency and resources, to enhance their experience. You can offer four types of in-app purchases:

  • Consumables. One-time use items that are spent or depleted — for example, in-game currency, equipment, or lives. Consumable in-app purchases often help a player progress more quickly in a game and can be purchased multiple times.
  • Nonconsumables. One-time purchase items that do not expire — for example, a bundle of additional levels, skins, or outfits.
  • Auto-renewable subscriptions. Players have recurring access to content — for example, a VIP tier with exclusive items that are replenished on a regular basis. Learn about providing auto-renewable subscriptions.
  • Nonrenewing subscriptions. Limited-access content — for example, a seasonal or annual pass. This type of in-app purchase does not automatically renew, so players must manually renew each time their access expires.

When planning your in-app purchases, think about how each offering relates to the essential activities of your game. You can display contextually appropriate content to help enhance a player’s gameplay — for example, if a player fails a level multiple times in a row, you might show them how a specific item can help them advance more easily and how that item can be obtained. You might also highlight any bonuses or savings to players to showcase the value of a particular in-app purchase. You can create up to 10,000 in-app purchases to offer in your game.

Learn how to create and publish in-app purchases

Push notifications

Push notifications can help keep players engaged with your game by delivering relevant reminders and updates. For example, you might remind a player to complete a task or claim a daily bonus, which can encourage them to open your game. You can also use push notifications to market content, such as a limited-time live event currently taking place in your game or a sale on in-app purchases. Players must first explicitly opt in to receiving marketing push notifications via a method within your game that includes consent language and a clear way of opting out. To ensure a positive experience, be mindful of the frequency and timing of your notifications and make sure they’re relevant, provide valuable information, and serve a clear purpose. Do not include sensitive personal or confidential information in your push notifications.

Learn how to design great push notifications

Learn how to implement push notifications

Game Center

Use Game Center, Apple’s social gaming network, to allow players to enjoy your game with friends. Take advantage of the Game Center in-game access point and dashboard, which includes the player profile, leaderboards, and achievements, to encourage deeper engagement with your game. You can also use the GameKit framework to build multiplayer experiences.

Games with Game Center integrated appear in the Friends Are Playing section on the App Store, where customers can discover and download the games their Game Center friends are playing. Customers can also see which friends are playing your game directly on your game’s App Store product page.

Learn more about Game Center

Limited-time events

Limited-time events are special events in your game that encourage engagement by providing new ways to interact with your game and receive rewards. These are part of a larger live operations strategy within your game. Limited-time events are typically competitive, thematic, or progressive in nature and can occur once or repeat after a certain duration, such as daily, or weekly. If adding limited-time events to your game, make sure they have defined goals and eligibility requirements and that they’re monitored to ensure gameplay stays balanced. Consider the ways you can drive awarenesses about your limited-time events — for example, including a dedicated area within your game, as well as using push notifications and social media. You can also use the promotional text section on your product page to share limited-time live events or features without having to submit a new version of your game.

Learn about adding limited-time events to your game

Balanced gameplay and refunds

Monitor your in-game activities, such as limited-time events and in-app purchases, to make sure gameplay is balanced and your in-game economy is fair for all players. App Store server notifications provide real-time refund notifications for all types of in-app purchases, so you can manage refunds and take appropriate action — for example, adjusting a player’s currency balance in a game or restricting access to content unlocked by an in‑app purchase. For cases of refund abuse, you might consider temporarily suspending a player or banning their account. If you choose to take action, inform the player of any changes and let them know if there’s anything they need to do in response.

For more information, see Handling Refund Notifications.

Measuring performance

App Analytics in App Store Connect helps you evaluate the performance of your game with usage metrics, such as the number of sessions, active devices, and retention rates. This information can help you to evaluate the success of your onboarding efforts, as well as understand which acquisition sources result in more engaged players. You can use Sales and Trends to track the daily performance of your games and in-app purchases.

Learn more about measuring performance

Maximize your game’s potential

Create amazing gameplay experiences using the powerful suite of game technologies built to harness the full capabilities of Apple platforms. Spanning from high-level to low-level, these technologies offer a wide array of features to make your titles even better.

Learn about Apple’s game technologies