Improving Your Customers’ Experience

After your app is available on the store, use iTunes Connect to understand and improve your customers’ experience with your app. For example:

Viewing Crash Reports

iTunes Connect collects crash reports for the most frequent crashes that your customers are encountering in the most recently approved version of an app. Crash reports are available from the Version Details page for an app.

../Art/apps_crash_2x.png../Art/apps_crash_2x.png

Crash reports are available for apps that have been on the store for a long enough period of time to generate crash logs or if Apple has received significant crash information from users.

bullet
To view and download crash reports for an app
  1. Open the App Summary page for the app, as described in “To open the App Summary page for an app.”

  2. For a version of the app that has (or once had) the “Ready for Sale” status, click View Details.

  3. On the Version Details page, click Crash Reports.

    ../Art/apps_crash_report_menu_2x.png../Art/apps_crash_report_menu_2x.png

    The link is available only if iTunes Connect has crash logs available for this version of the app.

  4. Click Download Report in the row of the crash type you want to download.

    iTunes Connect downloads one or more .crash files that can be analyzed in Xcode. See “Analyzing Crash Reports” in App Distribution Guide.

Tabs on the page appear for each OS release on which users are running the app and for which there are crash reports available. You may also see tabs for unreleased versions of iOS or OS X, at Apple’s discretion.

In each pane, iTunes Connect displays crash reports accumulated since the last time the list was refreshed. The collection start time is displayed at the top of the page. Before you refresh the page, save the reports you need. After you refresh the report, the reports listed on the page are no longer available.

To clear the Crash Reports, click Refresh.

../Art/apps_crash_refresh_2x.png../Art/apps_crash_refresh_2x.png

Viewing Customer Reviews

Customer reviews are also available in iTunes Connect for you to view the most recent feedback from your users.

../Art/apps_reviews_2x.png../Art/apps_reviews_2x.png
bullet
To view customer reviews for an app
  1. Open the App Summary page for the app, as described in “To open the App Summary page for an app.”

  2. For a version of the app that has or once had the “Ready for Sale” status, click View Details.

  3. On the Version Details page, click Customer Reviews.

    ../Art/apps_reviews_link_2x.png../Art/apps_reviews_link_2x.png

Managing Game Center Leaderboard Scores

iTunes Connect gives you access to the top 100 scores posted to your app’s leaderboards. If you determine that players are able to generate fraudulent high scores, you can remove these scores from a leaderboard or block individual players from posting scores. You can manage active leaderboards as follows:

iTunes Connect maintains 30 days of scores removed and players blocked; you can restore scores or players from these lists.

Viewing Leaderboard Scores

If there are live leaderboards for an app, you can access leaderboard scores from the Game Center page of the app.

bullet
To view leaderboard scores
  1. Go to the Game Center page of your app.

  2. In the Leaderboards section, click “Manage Scores and Players.”

    If your app has no live leaderboards, the button doesn’t appear.

    ../Art/gc_mng_score_button_2x.png../Art/gc_mng_score_button_2x.png
  3. Find the leaderboard you want to change.

    If the app supports more than ten leaderboards, click page numbers or Next to display additional leaderboards. Use Search to find the leaderboard by Reference Name or Leaderboard ID.

  4. In the rightmost column for the leaderboard, click Manage.

    The Manage High Scores page for that leaderboard appears.

    ../Art/gc_mng_score_list_2x.png

Removing and Restoring Scores

When you delete a score from a leaderboard, the entry (that is, the player’s nickname and the score) is removed from the leaderboard.

bullet
To delete a score
  1. Open the Manage High Scores page for the leaderboard you want to change, as described in “To view leaderboard scores.”

  2. In the list of Top 100 Scores, find the score you want to remove.

    You might need to scroll through the list to find the score.

  3. Click Remove next to the score.

    ../Art/gc_mng_delete_score_2x.png
  4. Click Delete to confirm.

After deleting a score, the entry appears in the Removed Scores (Last 30 Days) list. Removed scores may take up to 20 minutes to disappear from their Game Center leaderboards or to appear in the Removed Scores list in iTunes Connect.

../Art/gc_mng_deleted_score_list_2x.png

You can restore a score to a leaderboard within 30 days of the score being removed. When you restore a score and the score is still in the top 100 for that leaderboard, the entry is replaced in the leaderboard, including the player’s nickname and the score. Restored scores may take up to 20 minutes to appear in their Game Center leaderboards or to appear in the Top 100 Scores list in iTunes Connect.

bullet
To restore a score
  1. Open the Manage High Scores page for the leaderboard you want to change, as described in “To view leaderboard scores.”

  2. In the list of Deleted Scores, find the score you want to restore.

    Only scores deleted in the previous 30 days are available to restore.

  3. Click Restore next to the score.

  4. Click Restore to confirm.

Blocking and Restoring Players

When you block a player from a leaderboard, iTunes Connect causes the following things to happen:

  • The player’s score entries—the player’s nickname and the score itself—are removed from the leaderboard.

  • The player’s score entries are removed from group game leaderboards that include this leaderboard.

  • No new scores from this player are posted to the leaderboard or to group game leaderboards that include this leaderboard.

  • Previously deleted scores for this player from any leaderboard are removed from the list of deleted scores: you can’t restore a score from a blocked player.

It may take up to 24 hours for all of the blocked player’s scores to fall off of all leaderboards.

bullet
To block a player
  1. Open the Manage High Scores page for the leaderboard you want to change, as described in “To view leaderboard scores.”

  2. In the list of Top 100 Scores, find a score for the player you want to block.

    It doesn’t matter which of the scores posted for the player that you find: After you block the player, all of that player’s scores are removed from the list.

  3. Click Block next to the player’s name.

    ../Art/gc_mng_block_player_2x.png
  4. Click Block to confirm.

After blocking a player, the player’s nickname appears in the list of blocked players in the app’s Manage Scores and Players page.

../Art/gc_mng_blocked_player_list_2x.png

You can restore a player within 30 days of blocking the player. When you restore a blocked player to a leaderboard, the player’s new scores are posted to the leaderboard and the player’s last posted score before being blocked is restored to the leaderboard.

bullet
To restore a player
  1. Open the Manage Scores and Players page for any app in your organization.

    On the Game Center page of your app, in the Leaderboards section, click “Manage Scores and Players.”

  2. In the list of blocked players, find the player you want to restore.

    Only players blocked in the previous 30 days are available to restore.

  3. Click Restore next to the player’s name.

  4. Click Restore to confirm.