Transferring and Deleting Apps

You move apps out of your organization’s catalog of apps by transferring an app to another organization or by deleting the app. You want to transfer an app when you’ve sold the app to another developer or you want to move it to another iTunes Connect organization. You want to delete an app when you’re ready to retire an app and there’s no chance you will want to offer it for sale or download in the future.

You can transfer the ownership of an app to another developer without removing the app from the store. The app retains its reviews and ratings during and after the transfer, and users continue to have access to future updates. There’s no limit to the number of apps you can transfer, but each app needs to be transferred individually.

All transfers and deletions are performed by the team agent. To learn more about a team agent’s function, see “What Is a Team Agent?.”

Criteria for Transferring an App

Before you transfer an app to another developer, ensure you’ve met the following criteria:

Transferring an App

You’ll need the team agent for the receiving organization to provide the team agent’s Apple ID and team ID. Recipients can find their Team ID in Member Center.

The team agent is the only one who can transfer an app.

bullet
To initiate an app transfer
  1. Make a record of app information you want to have after the transfer.

    Because you won’t be able to view the app information after the transfer, make a catalog report (see “Requesting Catalog Reports”), note dates the app was available on the store (see “Viewing Status History”), and save sales and download information (see “Viewing Sales and Trends”).

  2. Open the App Summary page for the app, as described in “To open the App Summary page for an app.”

  3. Click Transfer App.

  4. Make sure the app meets the criteria for transferring.

    • If all criteria have been met, click Continue.

    • If all criteria haven’t been met, resolve those that are outstanding.

  5. Enter the recipient’s information, and click Continue.

    ../Art/at_recipient_info_2x.png../Art/at_recipient_info_2x.png
  6. Verify the transfer information and contract terms.

  7. Read the contract terms, and select “I have read and agree to the agreement presented above.”

  8. Click Request Transfer.

    ../Art/at_confirm_transfer_2x.png../Art/at_confirm_transfer_2x.png
  9. Click Done to return to the App Summary page.

During the time it takes Apple to perform the transfer, the app stays in its previous status, with the Pending App Transfer status added. You can change the price of the app during this time.

The transfer must be accepted by the recipient organization within 60 days. When the recipient team agent signs in to iTunes Connect, a notice appears indicating that an app is ready to be transferred.

bullet
To accept an app transfer
  1. Sign in to iTunes Connect.

    A notice appears indicating that an app is ready to be transferred.

    ../Art/at_pending_request_2x.png../Art/at_pending_request_2x.png
  2. Click “Contracts, Tax and Banking.”

  3. In the Transfer Agreements section, locate the app being transferred in the Contracts In Process subsection and click Review.

    ../Art/at_contracts_process_review_2x.png../Art/at_contracts_process_review_2x.png
  4. Enter the new metadata and review it.

    • Support URL

    • Atom Feed URL (required if the app previously had an Atom Feed URL entered)

    • Marketing URL (required if the app previously had a Marketing URL entered)

    • Privacy Policy URL (required if the app previously had a Privacy Policy URL entered)

    • CCATS (a new CCATS form is required for apps that use export compliance)

    • App Review Contact information

    • App Store Contact information

  5. Select the “I have read and agree to the agreement presented above” option, and click Accept.

It can take up to two business days for the app transfer to complete, during which the app status is listed as Processing App Transfer. While the app is in the transfer state, the following actions apply:

After the transfer is complete, the app is now owned by the app transfer recipient. It no longer appears in the the transferor’s iTunes Connect account.

What Happens During and After an App Transfer

After an app is transferred, its associated App ID is also transferred to the recipient’s Member Center account. If the transferor’s App ID was a wildcard App ID, it’s converted to an explicit App ID that exactly matches the app’s bundle ID. Associated client SSL certificates for push notifications aren’t transferred. If the app uses Apple Push Notifications service (APNs), the recipient needs to create a client SSL certificate using Member Center to reenable it.

For games, several actions take place depending on whether the app was associated with any other apps. Apps that are part of a cross-app Multiplayer Compatibility Matrix are no longer compatible or appear in the other app’s matrix.

Apps that are part of a Game Center group are removed from the group during the transfer. After the transfer, all leaderboards and achievements revert back to their original status. Leaderboards that were originally a group leaderboard retain the grp. prefix in their identifier.

Leaderboards that were originally single leaderboards but were merged into a group lose the grp. prefix. They also revert back to the original leaderboard IDs they had before the merge. Make sure you update the app binary with the new leaderboard IDs so that scores are posted correctly.

Deleting an App

If you’ve created an app in iTunes Connect that you no longer need to manage, you can delete it from iTunes Connect.

Apps can’t be deleted if they are part of a Game Center group or currently displayed on a store. You’ll want to remove the app from sale or from the group if you want to delete it. See “Removing an App from Sale” or “Removing an App from a Group” in Game Center Configuration Guide for iTunes Connect. Apps that have not been approved yet can’t be deleted; instead, reject the app. See “Rejecting Your Binary.”

bullet
To delete an app from the store and iTunes Connect
  1. Open the App Summary page for the app, as described in “To open the App Summary page for an app.”

  2. Make sure that the app status allows deletion.

    You can delete your app when the latest version status is one of the following:

    ../Art/status_yellow_2x.png Prepare for Upload

    ../Art/status_yellow_2x.png Waiting For Upload

    ../Art/status_red_2x.png Invalid Binary

    ../Art/status_red_2x.png Developer Rejected

    ../Art/status_red_2x.png Rejected

    ../Art/status_red_2x.png Metadata Rejected

    ../Art/status_red_2x.png Developer Removed From Sale

    ../Art/status_red_2x.png Removed from Sale

    If your app has a different status, you can delete the app by first rejecting the binary or by removing the app from sale. See “Viewing and Changing Your App’s Status and Availability.”

  3. Click Delete App.

    ../Art/apps_deleting_app_2x.png../Art/apps_deleting_app_2x.png

    If the Delete App button isn’t displayed, check that you’re the team agent and that the app is in one of the statuses that allow the app to be deleted.

  4. Click Confirm.