Replacing Your App with a New Version

When you’re ready to distribute a new version of your app, you upload the new app build into the same iTunes Connect record you created for the app’s previous version. Updated versions keep the same Apple ID, iTunes Connect ID (SKU), and bundle ID as the original version. You can update the metadata used in the store for the new app version and add a description of the new version’s features. Updated app versions are available free to customers who purchased a previous version.

Adding a new version of an app is similar to adding the first version, except that you can set additional options:

Creating the Next App Version in iTunes Connect

You can add a new version of an app when the current version’s status is Ready for Sale or Developer Removed from Sale. The new app version goes through the same review process as the first version.

Only the team agent or users with an Admin or Technical role can add a new app version. If your user account doesn’t have the appropriate role, you don’t see the My Apps section on the iTunes Connect homepage. Contact a user in your organization with an Admin role to give you the right access. See Viewing, Editing, and Deleting iTunes Connect Users.

To add an updated version of an app

  1. As an iTunes Connect user with an Admin or Technical role, sign in to iTunes Connect.

  2. On the iTunes Connect homepage, click My Apps.

  3. Select the app. If you don’t find the app in the list, see Searching for Apps.

  4. Click + Version or Platform from the left pane.


    You will only be able to add a new version for a new platform or a platform that has a Ready for Sale or Developer Removed from Sale version. If a platform version has not completed the app review process—it has a status such as Prepare For Submission or Waiting For Review—you can replace the build in the existing version instead of adding a new version. See Removing a Build from Review.

  5. In the New Version dialog, enter the new version number, and click Create. (This will be the version number shown in the App Store.)

    A new version for that platform is added with existing metadata from the current version automatically transferred. Properties you can change are in editable fields.

    When a new platform is added, you are not prompted to enter any information. Information is carried over from any other platform created, except description and screenshots.

    Note that once a new platform has been added, it cannot be removed.

  6. Review and update the information to describe the new version.

    Platform Version Information, which consists of localizable metadata, including:

    General App Information, which consists of metadata for that platform, including:

    Make sure to select a build, as explained in Choosing a Build. Add any app properties for store technologies to the version, including In-App Purchase Properties, and Game Center Properties.

    Specify your App Review Information and version release. Also, any app-specific details that are shared across all platforms can be edited in the App Information section:

    • Name

    • Privacy policy URL and text

    • Category

    • License Agreement

    Version release lets you choose whether to release the new version automatically or manually, as explained in Specifying When App Versions Are Released.

  7. Fix any errors indicated for the new version.

    If there’s missing information required to save the new version information, you see messages at the top of the page describing the issues. For example, if iTunes Connect has additional requirements since you submitted the previous version, you see messages indicating what new information is required.

    In the section with errors, update the values. For a few properties such as Rating and License Agreement, you have to click Edit before you can enter the new values. Click Save.

    When all errors are resolved, and a build has been added to the new version, the Submit for Review button will be visible.

Uploading the New Build

After you’ve prepared your iTunes Connect record for a new app version, you’re ready to upload the updated build for the new version; see Uploading a Build for an App.

After the build is uploaded, the App Details page shows the version currently for sale with the status Ready for Sale and the version just added with the status Prepare for Submission. The page will show at most two app versions for each platform.


Preventing App Versions from Appearing in iCloud

You can indicate a legal or usability issue with a version of your app to make sure that the version is excluded from being pushed to existing customers on iCloud.

If the version of your app whose status is Ready for Sale has a legal or usability issue, you must submit an update for the app and indicate the issue with the previous version when submitting the new version. If you are unable to submit an update, you must remove it from sale.

To disable a version of an app for availability through iCloud

  1. From App Store, click Pricing and Availability.

  2. At the bottom of the page, toggle open Last-Compatible Version Settings.

    The existing platforms and available versions are listed.

  3. Select the available version and a lightbox will display.

  4. Uncheck any version that should not be available.


If a legal dispute is resolved, you can reenable the app version to be available again on iCloud. Follow the steps above and change the selections.

Specifying When App Versions Are Released

You can specify when you want to release an app version to the store by using iTunes Connect version release control.

For each platform version, you are shown the three options for version release control: manual; automatic; or automatic, no earlier than. The options appear in the Version Release section at the bottom of the page.


If you choose to automatically release your app update, that app is posted to the store as soon as it’s approved by Apple, pending the availability date you have set. (To set the availability date, read Changing an App’s Availability Date.)

If you choose to manually control the version’s release, your app status changes to Pending Developer Release after it’s approved by Apple, indicating that you can manually release it to the store when you’re ready.

If you choose Automatic, no earlier than, you must select a date and time. The date and time will be based on your local time and a conversion to GMT will be displayed next to it. This means that as long as your version is approved, it will be released at the time selected. Remember it can still take up to 24 hours for an app to process to the App Store. If the version has not yet been reviewed it will not go live until it has been approved.

To release a Pending Developer Release version to the store

  1. As an iTunes Connect user with an Admin or Technical role, sign in to iTunes Connect.

  2. On the iTunes Connect homepage, click My Apps.

  3. Select the app and open the App Details page for the app, as described in Creating an iTunes Connect Record for an App.

  4. Click the appropriate platform version number from the left pane.

  5. Click Make App Available in the top-right corner of the page.


    Your app version will then be live on the store pending the customary processing times.

    If you want to remove the app instead, click Cancel This Release in the alert banner at the top of the version section for the platform.

You can also release your app version by using iTunes Connect app available in the App Store. See Take iTunes Connect with You.